Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea

New York Times Bestseller and winner of the Carnegie Medal! "Masterfully crafted"-The Wall Street Journal

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating-yet unknown-tragedies.

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people-adults and children alike-aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff-the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Praise for Salt to the Sea:
Featured on NPR's Morning Edition ? "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."-The Wall Street Journal ? "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction…she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."-Entertainment Weekly ? "Riveting...powerful...haunting."-The Washington Post ? "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."-New York Times Book Review ? "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."-Shelf Awareness ? "Historical fiction at its very, very best."-The Globe and Mail ? "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."-Salt Lake Tribune ? *"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."-Booklist ? *"Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."-School Library Journal ? A PW and SLJ 2016 Book of the Year

Praise for Between Shades of Gray:
A New York Times Notable Book ? A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book ? A PW, SLJ, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book ? iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel ? A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist ? A New York Times and International Bestseller ? "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."-The Washington Post ? *"[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."-Booklist

€ 23,50

Waarom bestellen bij Scheltema?

Vanaf €15,- aan nieuwe Nederlandstalige boeken gratis verzending.

Gratis retourneren.

Boektype Verkrijgbaar in extra informatie Voorraad Prijs Levertijd Uw bestelling
Nieuw Webshop € 23,50

Afwijkende levertijd: 9 werkdagen.

ISBN
9780399160301
Uitgever
Penguin Young Readers Group
Druk vanaf
1e
Verschenen
01-01-2016
Taal
Engels
Bladzijden
400 pp.
Bindwijze
Gekartonneerd
Rubriek
Zwangerschap en opvoeding

Bij een bestelling kunt u online direct afrekenen. U kunt betalen met iDeal, Master Card, Visa, American Express, Paypal, Mister Cash en de Digitale Boekenbon. Vanzelfsprekend worden deze gegevens ook over een beveiligde (SSL) verbinding verstuurd waarmee uw veiligheid is gegarandeerd.

Verzendkosten en levertijden

Alle nieuwe, Nederlandstalige boeken boven de € 15 verzenden wij gratis, daaronder betaalt u € 1,95.  Bij tweedehands, ramsj en anderstalige boeken betaalt u € 1,95 + € 0,95 per besteld boek. Voor verzending naar België wordt € 1,95 + € 1,95 per boek gerekend. Bij verzending naar Duitsland rekenen wij € 20 per bestelling. Naar overige landen verzenden wij niet.


Over het algemeen worden nieuwe Nederlandstalige boeken die u voor 23.00 bestelt, de volgende dag thuisbezorgd. Tweedehands boeken en ramsj worden op werkdagen dagelijks verzonden. Als u de bestelling vóór 15.00 uur plaatst, heeft u de boeken meestal de volgende dag in huis.

Reserveren

Nieuwe, tweedehands boeken en ramsj kunt u reserveren wanneer deze op voorraad zijn. U kunt uw reservering direct online betalen of u betaalt bij het afhalen van uw reservering in de winkel. De betaalwijze kunt u aangeven bij stap 3 'Betaalwijze'.

Loading...

.
pro-mbooks1 : scheltema